Home Page

Parents & Friends Association (PFA)

Welcome to the Parents and Friends Association for our wonderful school! We are made up of mums and dads, aunties, their friends, a veritable mix but most importantly anyone who wants to help enhance the children's day-to-day school life. With ever tighter budgets to manage and the demands of a heavy curriculum to meet, we support the Staff and Governing Body where we can to provide the best experience possible for our children in their formative years, and hopefully create very special and happy memories along the way.

 

If you would like to join us, in any capacity, your help and support is always greatly appreciated. Come along to a meeting, help sell cakes, trim the Christmas tree... Your time and effort will be so greatly rewarded in seeing the smiles on the children faces.

 

Incentive enough for anyone! 

 

Calendar 2016-17

Autumn Term

 

Friday 16th & Monday 19th September

  • Starlight Clothes collectionBag drop off in the Hall for the Starlight Clothes collection (before or after the school day preferred so as not to disrupt classes) £80.40 raised for school, and £20.10 for the Starlight children's charity

 

Friday 23rd September

  • PFA meeting: 2pm in the purple room - all welcome!

 

Friday 14th October

  • PFA in school to help children in reception and years 1, 2, and 3 make Christmas cards. Years 4, 5 and 6 to make them at home. These need to be on A4 paper (any colour). Ideas can be found at http://www.apfs.org.uk/resources.php
  • Year 4, 5 & 6 Bake Sale in the library at 3:35pm £73 raised

 

Thursday 3rd November

  • PFA AGM followed by PFA meeting, 3.30pm - all welcome, feel free to bring your children.

 

Thursday 10th November

  • All children to return Christmas card artwork to school with completed forms taped to the reverse, along with payment - cheques payable to "Gamston PFA"

 

Tuesday 22nd November

  • School Open Day, 1-5pm, volunteers please to help serve refreshments and answer questions from visitors.

 

Sunday 27th November

  • PFA members decorate school and tree for Christmas from 10.30am. All volunteers welcome!

 

Tuesday 29th November

  • School Christmas Craft Evening: refreshments, cake sale and special guests courtesy of the PFA!

 

Friday 9th December

  • 100 Club Draw
  • Deadline for returning Christmas Raffle money, counterfoils and unsold tickets to the school office.

 

Monday 12th December

  • Christmas Raffle drawn at the school Christmas party - winners will be contacted directly.
  •  School Christmas Party: Volunteers needed to help from 12pm - talk to Hazel if you are interested.

 

Tuesday 20th December (inset day)

  • Volunteers needed to help take down school Christmas tree from 10am - talk to Jennie if you are interested.

 

 

 

Spring Term

 

Wednesday 11th January

  • Starlight clothing collection £92 raised for school, £23 for the Starlight children's charity.

 

Friday 13th January

  • PFA meeting and AGM, 2pm in school.

 

Friday 3rd February

  • PFA meeting, 2pm in school.

 

Friday 24th February

  • Year 2 & 3 Bake Sale at 3.35pm

 

Monday 20th March

  • Tickets for Easter raffle go on sale in the playground: £1 each

 

Friday 25th March

  • 100 Club Draw

 

Friday 31st March

  • Easter raffle drawn

Summer Term

 

Friday 5th May

  • PFA meeting at 2pm in school. All welcome!

 

Monday 8th May

  • Starlight clothing collection. Bags available from the school office.

 

Friday 26th May

  • Reception & Year 1 Bake Sale at 3.35pm

 

Tuesday 27th June

  • Sports Day: PFA members selling refreshments

 

Friday 7th July

  • Strawberry Fayre, 6pm onwards

 

Friday 14th July

  • 100 Club Draw
Please keep checking back for any other important announcements or future PFA meeting dates/times, or download our latest PFA News booklet using the link above.
Picture 1